What is the 2VS?

The Two Volcano Sprint is a single-stage, self-supported bicycle challenge starting and finishing at south Italy’s two iconic volcanoes, Mt. Vesuvio and Mt. Etna. The route crosses through National Parks, rural mountain villages, Calabrese forests, the panoramic Amalfi and Cilento coastline and the Appenine mountain range. 


The 2VS 2022 starts on Wednesday, October 12th,  at 05:00am at the foot of Mt. Vesuvio, Ercolano. 

The Rules

As with all self-supported adventure races, riders must cycle the fixed GPX route completely self-powered and unassisted, carrying their own gear and acquiring any food, water, resources or lodgings at commercially available services. Riders must carry a GPS tracker, that should be turned on at all times. Drafting is not permitted unless riding in a pair. There is no prize money or reward for participants except the satisfaction of having pushed their legs and limits, explored another part of this planet and contributed towards improving the lives of people living on it.

The Goal

The Two Volcano Sprint is a not-for-profit event promoting eco-sustainability in south Italy. Thanks to sponsors covering organizational costs, 100% of the riders’ entry fees, after tracker rental, go towards an annual sponsorship grant. Every year, the 2VS association offers this grant to a project, initiative or service that positively impacts nature preservation, environmental sustainability, or climate action, while boosting economic growth for local communities

Annual sponsorship award project

The Davida Association is a non-profit company that started a collection project purchasing food parcels and supplies distributed throughout the Napoli/Salerno region during the Covid-19 lockdowns. The Two Volcano Sprint was created to reinforce this not-for-profit organisation, using participants’ registration fees to fund an annual project focused on eco-sustainability in southern Italy.
In light of the global pandemic, funding raised from the 2VS events of 2019 – 2021 went towards supporting families and individuals whose livelihoods were affected by the Covid-19 lockdown. Three truck loads of care packages with enough supplies to sustain families and individuals living under difficult conditions for a week, were distributed throughout the first half of 2020. Eight tons of canned and dry supplies were donated in the first half of 2021.
The not-for-profit purchased and distributed close to one hundred tablets to schools in the communities of Ercolano and Nicolosi, for children without a computer or tablet for online learning after schools across Italy shut down.
All parcels, tablets and supplies were purchased and delivered by the 2VS team personally and given directly to accredited distribution organizations, without any intermediary.
In these trying times, helping others in need is its own reward. If you are not able to participate in the cycling event, but would like to contribute towards our projects, you can donate directly through Paypal using the 2VS email: twovolcanosprint@gmail.com


2022 Registration is closed

Race map 2022



Start Number Firstname Last Name First + Last name Country
12 Christopher Herndler Christopher Herndler Austria
14 Gernot Stenz Gernot Stenz Germany
15 Malo CAMUS Malo Camus France
16 Nicola Eccles Nicola Eccles United Kingdom (UK)
17 LAURENT NIEDERST Laurent Niederst France
18 andrea galanti Andrea Galanti Italy
19 Giuseppe Colucci Giuseppe Colucci Italy
20 Robert Reinecke Robert Reinecke Switzerland
21 Patrick Doupe Patrick Doupe Germany
22 Jaco Wessels Jaco Wessels United Kingdom (UK)
23 Per Arne Janssen Per Arne Janssen Germany
24 Cristian Auriemma Cristian Auriemma Italy
25 Daan Marsmans Daan Marsmans Netherlands
26 Alex Armstrong Alex Armstrong United Kingdom (UK)
27 Jonathan Sarkies Jonathan Sarkies United Kingdom (UK)
28 Frieder Backu Frieder Backu Germany
29 Andrea Boscolo Andrea Boscolo Italy
77 Tolga Alpagot Tolga Alpagot Switzerland
31 Ulrich Bartholmoes Ulrich Bartholmoes Germany
32 Ian Appleby Ian Appleby United Kingdom (UK)
33 Christophe Claris Christophe Claris France
34 Boye Rijs Boye Rijs Netherlands
35 Eskil Schlewski Eskil Schlewski Germany
36 Christopher Fusulier Christopher Fusulier Luxembourg
37 Cem Sönmez Cem Sönmez Belgium
38 John Holden John Holden United Kingdom (UK)
39 Nico Couckuyt Nico Couckuyt Belgium
40 christian lust Christian Lust Germany
41 Stefano Baldoni Riggio Stefano Baldoni Riggio Italy
43 Eddie Kouiss Eddie Kouiss Netherlands
45 Luís Luz Luís Luz Portugal
49 Johannes Schützenhofer Johannes Schützenhofer Austria
46 Martin Berndt Martin Berndt Germany
47 Grant Fraser Grant Fraser Germany
48 Vincent Le Strat Vincent Le Strat France
44 Francesco Pizzo Francesco Pizzo Italy
50 Tadeas Mahel Tadeas Mahel Czech Republic
51 Bryan Averre Bryan Averre United Kingdom (UK)
52 Martijn Driedonks Martijn Driedonks Netherlands
53 Pierfrancesco Santin Pierfrancesco Santin Italy
54 Dario Forti Dario Forti Italy
56 Marco Locatelli Marco Locatelli France
57 Hashim Hassan Hashim Hassan United Kingdom (UK)
58 Martin McShane Martin Mcshane United Kingdom (UK)
59 Sarah Cinquini Sarah Cinquini Italy
60 Ernesto Valentini Ernesto Valentini Italy
61 John Cooke John Cooke United Kingdom (UK)
64 Raphael Gassmann Raphael Gassmann Switzerland
65 Marion Faure Marion Faure France
66 MARIA Minervino Maria Minervino Italy
67 Renato Caudullo Renato Caudullo Italy
68 Roberto Bianco Roberto Bianco Italy
69 Sebastian Sarx Sebastian Sarx Austria
70 Filippo Nicotra Filippo Nicotra Italy
71 Erik Arribillaga Erik Arribillaga France
72 Jan Willem Bobbink Jan Willem Bobbink Netherlands
73 Marco Bolletta Marco Bolletta Italy
74 Christian Bel Christian Bel Germany
75 Eugenia Belloni Pocoroba Eugenia Belloni Pocoroba Netherlands
30 Gavin Scott Gavin Scott United Kingdom (UK)
78 Filippo Nicoli Filippo Nicoli Ireland
79 Clemens Mosig Clemens Mosig Germany
80 Christopher Kraus Christopher Kraus Germany
81 Denise Vorberg Denise Vorberg Austria
82 Simon Gwiggner Simon Gwiggner Austria
83 James E Fox James E Fox United Kingdom (UK)
84 Victor Eklund Victor Eklund Belgium
85 Andrea Eva Rösch Andrea Eva Rösch Switzerland
86 Erik Price Erik Price Germany
87 Riccardo Kuhar Riccardo Kuhar Croatia
88 Massimiliano Piemonte Massimiliano Piemonte Italy
89 Alexander Cimen Alexander Cimen Germany
90 Kilian Wagner Kilian Wagner Germany
91 Leonard v. Hammerstein Leonard V. Hammerstein Germany
92 Anatole Naimi Anatole Naimi Belgium
93 Rik van Huik Rik Van Huik Netherlands
94 Bruno Wicht Bruno Wicht Switzerland
95 Paul Niehoff Paul Niehoff Germany
96 Nahuel Passerat Nahuel Passerat France
97 Robert Mueller Robert Mueller Germany


Start Number Participant 1 Participant 2 Country
101 a / b Anders Klavberg Anders Klingborg Sweden
102 a / b Andrea Becker-Pennrich Marcus Gutmann Germany
103 a / b Tarmo Tarlap Leho Rips Estonia

2VS 2021 Gallery


Contact us